Sanity in Times of Crisis

despair-513529_1920

 

Yesterday while doing some shopping in my local shopping precinct I entered Coles Supermarket to buy some vegetables for the evening meal. As I browsed through the aisles I noticed that the shelves containing chocolates and biscuits were almost empty. Not that this bothered me as I don’t eat sugar-filled foods. I was simply curious. Then I came to the shelves where tissues and toilet paper is normally stored and the shelves were completely empty! Now more than curious, I asked one of the employees what was happening. She gave me a look as if I had come from another planet and replied, ‘Don’t you know? It’s the Coronavirus. People are panic buying.” Still trying to figure this all out I wondered what the demand of Chocolates, Potato Chips and biscuits had to do with a virus? I assume it had something to do with the possibility of being quarantined for 14 days. So, Armageddon had struck in my sleepy little suburb.

As I was returning to the bus stop I noted a gaggle of some ten people seemingly in panic mode rushing along the footpath, shoving people out of the way with deep desperate looks on their faces. I asked another passer-by what was happening. Apparently the two-dollar store was selling toilet paper and just had delivery!! So, this was the answer to the Coronavirus pandemic.

This concerns me.  What is happening here is a condition far more insidious than the Coronavirus – human fear and the herd mentality, prepared to open themselves to rampant greed and the need to trample upon others to grasp onto their icon or assuredness and safety, in this case toilet paper! It further concerns me that it is a time of a complete lack of leadership and common sense has been flushed down the loo with the tonnes of toilet paper. So, what can reasonable people do in times of public crisis?

Check on your friends and neighbours

Take time to build community. Check on your neighbours to see if they are OK and have enough supplies. (By the way, Australia does not have a toilet paper shortage!). You can even develop and neighbourhood pantry.  Four of our households in my own street have come together to support each other.  Sometimes the support may be as simple as saying “hello” or sharing local information. Make daily phone calls to friends and colleagues. This helps breakdown the sense of isolation and despair. If you have more than enough food or other basic commodities share with others.

Check the Facts

There is so much mis-information floating about concerning Coronavirus.  The Trust Factor has dropped to below zero levels so we are not trusting the media nor some politicians. Even “experts” abound in such crises and it is hard to know what information to trust.  Check facts through reputable medical sources. Talk to your local GP. Don’t make assumptions.

Help others in need

If you see someone who is not looking well or has fallen to the ground, don’t take out your phone to film them, call for medical assistance.

Think Innovation

Crisis is a great time to look beyond the immediate problems to find innovative ways we can work together. Our neighbourhood has come up with bulk ordering from Coles and Woolworths on line and each of us sharing the delivery cost. There are many other ways to be innovative.

Maintain your own health physically, mentally and spiritually

Eat whole foods and a balance of fruit, vegetables, grain and nuts. Take time to walk or exercise. Look after your mental health by limiting crisis media news, doing meditation or yoga and maintaining connection with others. Don’t isolate. If you have a faith or spirituality take more time to pray, read, meditate or become inspired by your faith tradition.

Panic, herd mentality or greed will not pull us through a crisis. Now is the time for calm and reasoned thinking with a higher mindset and above all, building local community.  Down through our world history it has been proven that small communities of just a few neighbours coming together can do far more than governments could ever achieve.

Author: Malcolm Hunt

I am founder of the Cloud Thinking method and Vice President of Youth for Global Peace, providing mentoring and coaching for young refugees, asylum seekers and migrants who have been socially and financially marginalized. I was a Buddhist monk in China for 4 years and recently returned to lay life in Australia. My professional background is in psychology and mental health education and support.

Leave a comment