Your Meditation is Nothing

 

If you can’t stand beside a friendless man your meditation is nothing.

If you can’t listen to pain and terror then your meditation is nothing.

If you can’t befriend the insane and share from their bowl your meditation is nothing.

If you cannot take the gun gently from the hand of the murderer and embrace him in his horror then your meditation is nothing.

If you cannot see the beauty and life in the one without limbs then your meditation is nothing.

If you cannot sit beside the aged in their loneliness then your meditation is nothing.

If you can’t embrace your own pain and shout “Yes!” to Life then your meditation is nothing.

If you can surrender all that you are, all that you have,

if you can embrace life without wanting it or wanting to change it,

if you can hear the sounds of pain and joy and know they come from the same source,

if you can sit in the fire, rain, snow, sun and in surrender open your heart

to the purity of love then

your meditation is the supreme gift of the Mani Pearl, the light of the Pure Land.

If you can meditate the Nothing knowing your meditation is nothing then

all serenity and bliss radiates like perfume from the Lotus.

Nothing and all are one in Joy.

 

Malcolm J Hunt

Guang Jue Temple, Tian Mu Mountain 2011

Author: Malcolm Hunt

I am founder of the Cloud Thinking method and Vice President of Youth for Global Peace, providing mentoring and coaching for young refugees, asylum seekers and migrants who have been socially and financially marginalized. I was a Buddhist monk in China for 4 years and recently returned to lay life in Australia. My professional background is in psychology and mental health education and support.

3 thoughts on “Your Meditation is Nothing”

  1. Thank you Malcolm for sharing such a wonderful article. I love how unique your perfection is about such a delicate topic. This truly is an inspirational article as well.
    I am so happy to connect with you. I have followed your blog, and I must say you are doing a fantastic job.

    Regards,
    Kiran Kandel
    ProInvestivity

    Like

    1. Thank you Kiran. Your kind words are very appreciated. I always hope I can leave a little inspiration for others and encourage them on their journey. May you be encouraged on yours too, Kiran.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s my pleasure! 🙂
        Such great words, Malcolm! I’m sure inspired a lot from your blog post!
        I am also eagerly waiting for your future posts!
        May I ask for a small favor, Malcolm? Since you have such beautiful writing, would you mind checking out my blog? Your feedback will be invaluable to me. Thank you very much!

        Like

Leave a comment